No new faces. Klinsmann’s squad goes into the second round of World Cup qualifiers at full strength.

The Korea Football Association on Saturday announced its 23-man roster for the two Asian qualifiers for the 2026 World Cup in North and Central America. South Korea will play Singapore at the Seoul World Cup Stadium on Sept. 16 and China at the Shenzhen Universiade Sports Center on Sept. 19 in the first and second Asian qualifying matches.

Only one player has changed from the roster for the two A matches in October (Tunisia and Vietnam).

With the roster reduced from 24 to 23, defender Kim Joo-seong (FC Seoul) was dropped and goalkeeper Kim Jun-hong (Gimcheon Commerce) was replaced by Song Bum-geun (Shonan Belmaré). Song returned to the national team for the first time in five months after being suspended for two consecutive A matches in June.

In addition to “Captain” Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), key Europeans such as Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich), Lee Kang-in (Paris Saint-Germain), Hwang Hee-chan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Lee Jae-sung (Mainz) and Cho Kyu-sung (Metzwilan) will all start in the second qualifying round. Eleven Europeans have been called up, including Hong Hyun-seok (KAA Gent), Hwang In-beom (Tsubena Zvezda), Jung Woo-young (Stuttgart), Hwang Eui-jo (Norwich City) and Oh Hyun-gyu (Celtic).

Including Song Bum-geun and goalkeepers Kim Seung-kyu (Al-Shabaab) and Park Yong-woo (Al Ain), there are 14 overseas players.

Klinsmann’s men will report to a hotel in Seoul on the 13th and train at the Mokdong Sports Complex main stadium. They will then face Singapore on the 16th and China on the 19th. 보스토토

◇Call-up list for the first and second rounds of the 2026 North American Football Confederations Cup Asia Second Qualifying Round (23 players)

Goalkeepers (3) = Kim Seung-kyu (Al-Shabaab), Cho Hyun-woo (Ulsan Hyundai), Song Bum-geun (Shonan Belmare)

Defenders (7) = Kim Young-kwon, Jung Seung-hyun, Kim Tae-hwan, Seol Young-woo (Ulsan Hyundai), Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich), Kim Jin-soo (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Lee Ki-je (Suwon Samsung)

Midfielders (10) = Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), Lee Kang-in (Paris Saint-Germain), Park Yong-woo (Al Ain), Lee Jae-sung (Mainz), Hong Hyun-seok (KAA Gent), Hwang In-beom (Tsubena Zbezda), Jung Woo-young (Stuttgart), Hwang Hee-chan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Lee Sun-min (Gwangju FC), Moon Sun-min (Jeonbuk Hyundai)

Forward (3) = Oh Hyun-gyu (Celtic), Cho Kyu-sung (Mitwillan), Hwang Eui-jo (Norwich City)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *